This page is for reviews by classmates and news of books/articles which are relevant to the class.



Now retired, Robert G. Fuller, Jr, practiced law in Maine for over thirty-five years. He also served in the Judge Advocate General's Corps of the United States Navy. During his career, he developed extensive contacts among Maine trial lawyers, judges, law enforcement personnel, prosecutors and forensic analysts, all of which have contributed to the authentic flavor of this novel.

 

Fuller's years in Maine have given him the ability to convey the way Maine people express themselves. He has a keen ear for the local vernacular of not only those who work in law enforcement but also the lawyers and ordinary citizens of Maine. Having practiced in Augusta, the state capital, he understands how Maine government, its bureaucrats, legislators and lobbyists operate. But Unnatural Deaths is more than a regional work. Danger and mystery, the unraveling of a complex factual skein, vivid characters and intriguing plot twists are common elements in any good crime novel. Fuller skillfully interweaves all these elements in lapidary prose with a Maine accent.

 

Whether Fuller is discussing the bureaucracy of Federal law enforcement, the general way in which murder investigations are conducted in Maine, or providing a thumbnail sketch of life on Portland's Munjoy Hill, it is clear he has done his homework, and his writing, while fiction, rings true. With his skillful use of idiom he deftly sketches his characters so that they immediately materialize in the reader's imagination, and he enlivens his narrative with a wry sense of humor. - Fernand LaRochelle, Assistant Attorney General (Retired), Criminal Division, Maine Attorney General's Office Fuller's debut novel tells a story of murder and related plots by organized crime solved through diligent police work rather than flashes of insight. Yet, due to the author's considerable experience and probing mind, the narrative does not become tedious. He constructs his characters and their subcultures with such skill as to make each incident a story in itself.

 

Particularly well described is the stark contrast between the gangsters' lack of moral sensibilities and the essentially decent ethos of rural Maine people. The novel's setting stimulates the reader to think deeply about how readily the innocent and friendly inhabitants of small-town Maine and their elected officials can be manipulated into unknowingly supporting the evil of seemingly wholesome, helpful outsiders. One is left with a disturbing sense of vulnerability and a warning to be cautious. - Henry F. Ryan, M. D., Chief Medical Examiner (retired), State of Maine.

 

MY REVIEW

by Joe Prather

 

5.0 out of 5 stars “A REAL ‘GRIPPING, PAGE TURNER’

Reviewed in the United States on September 21, 2020

Robert Fuller’s novel is impossible to put down. The plot is well thought out and the author’s experience enables him to bring you into the story with inside discussion among the characters that makes the reader feel that the discussions are real, but that they are reading a true story rather than a novel.

 

posted 11/2/20



TO: George Brakeley

I have just completed another book (FORTITUDE: The Story of My Ancestors) which traces the lives of my Uncle Gordon, Class of 1907, Uncle Fred, Class of 1909 and my Father, Bud, Class of 1915, who went on to run, respectively, First National Bank, Pratt & Whitney/United Aircraft, and Baldwin-Lima-Hamilton -- the only three brothers in the history of America to have been CEOs of Fortune 500/NYSE-listed corporations. Authorhouse is the publisher.

Charlie Rentschler
posted 5/12/18

To the Class Secretary:

You may feel that it is appropriate to mention my recent OUP publication that actually originated with my studies at Princeton in the Special Program in European Civilization. My book is entitled The Macabresque: Human Violation and Hate in Genocide, Mass Atrocity, and Enemy-Making.

I trust all is well with you and yours, and send very best wishes,

Edward
------------------------------------
Professor Edward Weisband
Edward S. Diggs Endowed Chair in the Social Sciences
Department of Political Science
Virginia Tech


The Macabresque

Human Violation and Hate in Genocide, Mass Atrocity and Enemy-Making

Edward Weisband

  • o Provides an original conceptualization of the term, the macabresque, to understand how human violation is used in episodes of genocide and mass atrocity
  • o Includes comparative case studies to illustrate the macabresque in different cultures, locations, and eras
  • o Examines extreme political violence through the Lacanian psychosocial theoretical perspective






To the Class Secretary:


Dear George,

I have just had my latest book published by Springer Verlag, with 2 chapters by my colleague Meg Caré.

 

Recognizing Child Abuse in Radiology

 

I am pleased that they priced it just under $50 in the USA. It's a personal approach to the problems and controversies relating to diagnosis of child abuse or ruling out child abuse.

 

Best regards,

Alan Oestreich

- posted 10/22/16


 


Supremely PartisanMy second book, Supremely Partisan: How Raw Politics Tips the Scales in the United States Supreme Court, will be available in hardcover this summer. The book is about the unfortunate politicization of the judiciary we are seeing with the controversy over Justice Scalia’s successor and  the run-up to the presidential election. I hope you will find it interesting.

 

The Foreword to the book (click here)  is written by the eminent law professor and author, Kermit Roosevelt..

 

Further information about Supremely Partisan, including the generous advance endorsements received to date, is available  on my website www.jimzirin.com.

 

The book is also offered for pre-order NOW on Amazon or your favorite online bookseller.

 

All the best,

Jim Zirin - 4/28/16



During her junior-year-abroad in Senegal, idealistic Beth Barton meets charismatic sculptor Malik Ndour and, without her parents’ knowledge, marries him. The couple’s arrival at her home near Portland, Maine, in early 2001, throws the parents’ marriage into turmoil, and soon puts stress on the newlyweds’ relationship as well. As a result of mounting domestic and racial tensions, the broader clash of African and Western cultures, and the attack of 9/11, Malik grows increasingly estranged and falls prey to a jihadist recruiter. Late one December night, on Portland’s freezing, fogbound docks, he sets out on his first deadly assignment. The ensuing crisis throws further light on the mindset of a terrorist, as well as on the diverse attitudes of his intimates toward him.

About the Author

Daniel C. Bryant was born and raised in Cincinnati, Ohio, and received an MD degree from Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons. During his years of medical practice in Portland, Maine, he also spent time in Senegal and tutored African immigrants. It was reflections on the events of 9/11, against the background of these experiences, that led him to the writing of May We Waken One by One. Early versions of the novel were finalists in the Fort Bend Writers’ Guild and the Whidbey MFA Alumni Association's Emerging Writers novel competitions; and the first chapter was published in Silk Road. In addition to publishing short fiction in Bellevue Literary Review, Madison Review, Nimrod, and other literary magazines, Bryant has self-published two volumes of short stories. In 2015 one of these stories was a finalist in the Maine Literary Awards short fiction competition.


From Amazon's website.  8/21/15



 

George Scheele writes (2/20/14) &ndash

 

I now have two books on the market:

· The Obesity Cure

· The Obesity Cure Primer

The featured book site on Bookmasters is http://www.atlasbooks.com/theobesitycure/

The two books are sold on amazon.com.

 

I have just completed an Anthology of Articles on Factor4 Weight Control®, which may be found at http://blog.factor4health.com/articles/. These articles summarize the numerous medical and scientific breakthroughs in Factor4 Health.



 

My husband Ron George's book, Chief: The Quest For Justice in California, was released last month. Among the book cover reviews is the following description:

"Ronald George's life is an epic in modern American law. In the Supreme Court of the United States and that of California -- where he was a distinguished Chief Justice -- George touched and shaped all the great legal issues of his day. His remarkable oral history, which covers everything from the Hillside Strangler case to the battle over same-sex marriage, is a wonderful introduction to this remarkable man." --Jeffrey Toobin, Author of The Nine and The Oath.

The book is not confined to such heady stuff; some college capers from Ron's Princeton days are included as well. Hopefully this will be of interest to his classmates,

Barbara J. George -12/21/13

[Click here to find it on Amazon]

I am happy to share that my book, entitled "The Mother Court -- Tales of Cases that Mattered in America's Greatest Trial Court" will be published in hardcover later this year by an imprint of ABA Publishing. Bob Morgenthau has written a foreword for the book, and it has gotten better and better with each revision.

The entire project is so exciting. Great news for us.

Jim Zirin - 7/18/13





 

Peter Georgescu has announced that his latest book, The Constant Choice: An Everyday Journey From Evil Toward Good, will be published in January, 2013.


He notes, "I wrote the The Constant Choice realizing that we live in extremely challenging times. We seem headed toward less compassion and consideration, failing to overcome that basic instinct that often leads to evil in human behavior &ndash self-preservation and self-agrandisement at all costs. Yet, we can become better people and build a better world, by opting for good over evil one choice at a time." - 11/30/12


For more about his life and book, click here.

Class of 1961 History --- Physician-scientist book

Dear George [Brakeley]--

Martha and I greatly enjoyed seeing you and Ellen at the Tailgate Saturday.


We had a splendid visit Thurs-Saturday. First there were events and discussions with the new Dean, Cecelia Rouse, at the WWS about SINSI---the Scholars in the Nation's Service Initiative—and dinner with Admiral Mullen and George Shultz '42, plus discussions about plans for the next Omenn Lecture in Science and Technology Policy. Then there were forums and a big dinner celebrating the success of the Aspire Campaign. And I visited three scientific colleagues on the PU faculty.


I mentioned the book of autobiographical vignettes by 20 Physician-Scientists: Medicine, Science, and Dreams, edited by David Schwartz. Please note Chapter 15 by Mike Iseman and Chapter 18 by me (especially p.273). Here is the draft version (before the figures and captions were matched!).


Best wishes,

Gil - 10/22/12


Dear Danny:

 

 

 

I finished reading your book [Democracy Despite Itself: Why a System That Shouldn't Work at All Works So Well by Mike Edwards and Danny Oppenheimer] which I downloaded on my Kindle during your talk at the PCNWNJ dinner on March 7th. I think that your book is terrific in that everything you wrote was so well laid out and simply stated that it’s hard to believe that it all was not common knowledge long ago. I now have the perspective to be concerned about elections without having to agonize over them. I would recommend it to all citizens from jr high school age and up.  Your talk was great and your book even better.  [click here for more information about the book.] Joe Prather - 3/11/12

 

 

 

 


Jim Blair recently alerted me to classmate Frank Deford’s book, Bliss, Remembered. I just finished it and would recommend it to all our classmates. Frank has written a well-crafted and creative story about love, family and sports during and after the 1936 Olympics in Germany. It is available in hard cover, audio and on Kindle and Nook. A good read! - Dick Edmunds - 1/25/12



 



On April 15, 2011, five classmates (l. to r. Barry Schaefer, Frank Deford, George Brakeley, Len Berton, Ed Mulock) gathered at the New Canaan, CT senior men's club meeting in St. Mark's Church.  Introduced to the members by George, Frank gave an entertaining presentation about his latest novel, Bliss Remembered.  He explained how this is the first time he wrote "disguised as a woman" but since it's a love story, he didn't find it too difficult to get into the proper mindset.  It features an Olympic-caliber swimmer who meets a young man at the 1936 Berlin Olympics and falls in love.  His parents are Nazis but he is not really subscribed to Hitler's doctrines.  In fact, the world at that time did not know whether Hitler was "just one more European dictator."  The book is highly recommended, and as you will observe, Frank is holding the paperback version which is coming out shortly.


 

 


Comment by Ed Farkas on Jim Zirin's article of December 28th, 2011.

A short time ago we received Jim Zirin’s excellent article on prospects for 2012.  No one can argue with Jim’s basic thesis:  we face a severe lack of certainty and a severe lack of clarity.


Among many other issues, Jim asks "What is our strategy to reduce the deficit;…create jobs;…?”  Here is my answer to this question:


In the early1960s we moved in an unprecedented new direction in that we voluntarily and of our own volition began to send our manufacturing to foreign countries. 

 

50 years on in this new direction we have a clear signal that a national economy cannot survive without a very substantial level of manufacturing.

 

Why is manufacturing so important?  What about important and respected employment as a teacher, bus driver, hotel chambermaid, or police officer?  The difference is that manufacturing creates something new and lasting that was not there before. The manufacturing worker starts with components and raw materials and makes a finished item that the consumer wants to buy.  The value of the inputs is less than the value of the finished item.  The result is a value-added or wealth-creation effect that enriches the economy.

 

Send manufacturing employment out of the country and you lose the wealth-creation/enrichment effect.  You are left with impoverishment.

 

Adam Smith’s 1776 book "Wealth of Nations” is probably overquoted. In any case, how much of a 236-year-old book is still applicable?  But let’s discuss. One theory in the book is that if individual business firms act in their own self-interest, the overall result will be beneficial to the nation as a whole.

 

In the 1960s individual business firms who sent their manufacturing jobs to foreign countries benefitted from lower manufacturing costs while still selling at the same prices into a largely prosperous economy. 

 

Today, business firms complain of slow sales in the U.S.  Well, of course!  A number of 25 million unemployed or under-employed is thrown around. Maybe it is a reasonable estimate.  Clearly these people aren’t strong shoppers. Also, people who still have employment do not feel secure with the result that their shopping is also limited.  

 

So we see that the unprecedented action of voluntarily sending manufacturing to foreign countries did not work out well for many individual business firms or for the nation as a whole.

 

The principle of absurdum ad infinitum could and should have been applied in the 1960s when the seeds of our present disastrous situation were being planted.  This principle states that if a process is carried to its logical final end point, and the result is absurd, then the process is invalid. In our context here, if every manufacturing firm sends its jobs overseas, then there will be no one left in America who can buy the goods made overseas.  

 

Still, we believe in free enterprise; individual business firms are free to act in what they see as their own interest, even if they are completely mistaken.

 

But governments should have acted to prevent or at least slow the sending of manufacturing jobs overseas.  Governments should have seen disaster down the road if manufacturing was lost. If wages were too high in the 1960s, due to union action or other factors, governments should have involved themselves to solve the problem by negotiation, by changes in the tax system, or other means.

 

I believe that business and government "leaders” were not aware of the wealth-creation effect of manufacturing, and therefore were not aware of the economic damage associated with a substantial reduction in the size of the manufacturing sector in America. 

 

Governments also did not seem to be aware that laid-off workers don’t pay taxes, and workers receiving less income pay less in the way of taxes.  Even today there is very little understanding on the part of governments or politicians at any level that deficits are a result of people not having employment and therefore not paying taxes.  All politicians want to do is cut, rather than doing anything to increase manufacturing employment.   

 

Another impoverishing aspect of the situation is our trade deficit in manufactured goods with all foreign countries of over $500 billion per year.  This amount is real wealth pouring out of our country, $1600 per year for every American man, woman, and child.

 

I say that loss of manufacturing employment is the cause of America’s economic problems, and therefore the only way to solve these problems is to cut imports and increase domestic manufacturing. 

 

I have used a good many words in the above paragraphs. 

 

Ed Schultz, host on MSNBC, has said the same thing, but has said it better, and has used many fewer words! To wit,

 

"We don’t have a tax problem, we have a revenue problem.  We’ve told American workers they’re not valuable anymore, that it’s better to do it overseas than it is right here. That’s wrong.  We need to reinvest in people, reinvest in manufacturing.  That’s how we’re going to turn our economy around.”   (The New Yorker, October 31, 2011, page 35.)


Leading Risk Management Analyst Dr. David Hulett to Publish Second Book

On May 25, 2011, Dr. David Hulett, an award winning author and publisher of Practical Schedule Risk Analysis announced the release of his second book, Integrated Cost-Schedule Risk Analysis. Click here for more information.


   


The Baltimore Briefs provides an insider's rare view  of the Maryland legal system, its attorneys and those they defend. Unanticipated quirks, quibbles and peculiarities of human behavior occur in many courtrooms, often from the witness chair.  This book, written by classmate John Lewin, presents those characters and the strange events drawn from a forty year legal career in Baltimore, the "city that bleeds".  You will meet some good guys and some scoundrels and the ironies of their lives.  From this work of non-fiction, you can expect a rocky but readable ride. One reviewer likened the book to a great toast, describing it as "Irresistible tales of people scrapping it out in the legal theater."

 Logon Successful

Logout


 

 

Registered on Website484
Have Submitted Photos                             759
Total Photos 1422

 

 


Who is Near Me?

 

 

Search for classmates by distance from your town or any place else.

 

 

 


 

Quick Links

 


© 2001-22  The Princeton University Class of 1961, Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey 08544 USA
Webmaster: Len Berton 

DISCLAIMER:  This page was created by and for the Class of 1961. Information on this page is intended for individual communication of a personal nature among Princetonians. Use of this information for any other purpose is strictly prohibited. The Class of  1961 is solely responsible for the content on this page. Although we make every effort to keep this information accurate, we cannot guarantee it.